Call for paper

The XIVth international conference on Gregory of Nyssa will take place in Paris, Collège des Bernardins, from Tuesday 4th to Friday 7th of September 2018. It will focus on the Homilies on the Lord’s Prayer and their reception in the byzantine world. A call for papers is open until September the 30th 2017.

As customary for Gregory of Nyssa’s conferences, each homily will be the subject of a specific lecture, offering a commentary of the whole homily. A call for paper is announced thereby for the other papers (time: 20 minutes), which should deal with the theme of the conference. The following topics are suggested:

  • the art and skills of the preacher
  • the world of the preacher and social and moral aspects of his homilies.
  • The exegesis of the Lord’s Prayer, in relation with the other works by Gregory and the other patristic authors
  • The perspective of the Kingdom (eschatology and present world)
  • The biblical figures in the homilies
  • Illness, health and healing of body and soul
  • Prayer in the homilies
    • In comparison with the other works of Gregory
    • In comparison with the other patristic authors
  • posterity and reception of the homilies in Byzantium
    • exegesis
    • theology
    • Spirituality

The official languages of the conferences are French, English, Italian, German and Spanish. Contributors are warmly encouraged to choose their most familiar tongue.

A French translation will be published in the collection « Sources chrétiennes » before the conference (M. Cassin, Ch. Boudignon, J. Seguin †); a working English translation will also be available to the participants to the conference (M. DelCogliano, A. Radde-Gallwitz).

Proposals (title and abstract ; position and institution) are to be sent via email to the following address: colloque2018@gregoryofnyssa.org. They will be examined by the scientific committee and results will be communicated before the end of year 2017.

Matthieu Cassin          Hélène Grelier-Deneux          Françoise Vinel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

14 + seven =

Appel à communication

Le XIVe colloque international Grégoire de Nysse se tiendra à Paris, Collège des Bernardins, du mardi 4 au vendredi 7 septembre 2018. Il aura pour thème les Homélies sur le Notre Père et leur réception dans le monde byzantin. Un appel à communication est ouvert jusqu’au 30 septembre 2017.

Selon l’usage des colloques Grégoire de Nysse, chacune des homélies fera l’objet d’une communication spécifique, qui en présentera un commentaire d’ensemble. Un appel à communication est lancé pour les autres communications (durée : 20 mn), qui devront porter sur le thème du colloque. On suggère en particulier les orientations suivantes :

  • L’art du prédicateur
  • Le monde du prédicateur et la portée sociale et morale des Homélies
  • L’exégèse du Notre Père, en relation avec les autres œuvres de Grégoire et avec les autres auteurs patristiques
  • La perspective du Royaume (eschatologie et monde présent)
  • Les figures bibliques dans les Homélies
  • Maladies, santé et guérison du corps et de l’âme
  • La prière dans les Homélies sur le Notre Père
    • En comparaison avec les autres œuvres de Grégoire
    • En comparaison avec les autres auteurs patristiques
  • Postérité et réception des Homélies à Byzance
    • Exégèse
    • Doctrine
    • Spiritualité

Le colloque aura pour langues officielles le français, l’anglais, l’italien, l’allemand, l’espagnol. Les contributeurs sont vivement encouragés à parler dans celle de ces langues qui leur est la plus familière.

Une traduction française du texte sera publiée dans la collection Sources chrétiennes avant le colloque (M. Cassin, Ch. Boudignon, J. Seguin †) ; une traduction anglaise de travail sera également mise à disposition des participants (M. DelCogliano, A. Radde-Gallwitz).

Les propositions de communication (titre et résumé ; fonction et institution de rattachement) sont à faire parvenir par courrier électronique à l’adresse suivante : colloque2018@gregoryofnyssa.org. Elles seront examinées par le comité scientifique du colloque et les réponses seront envoyées avant la fin de l’année 2017.

Matthieu Cassin          Hélène Grelier-Deneux          Françoise Vinel

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

quatre × 3 =